Godly Contentment=Gain

Leave a comment

May 18, 2013 by lellielieb

“… imagining that godliness is a means of gain. But godliness with contentment is great gain.” (I Timothy 6)

I used to think that being obedient and pleasing God was the way to get God to give me what I wanted.  I wouldn’t have put it as plainly as that, but that is what I believed.  I kept the rules and tried to live a godly life so that God would be pleased with me.  I believed that if God was pleased, He would make my life lovely.  When my life wasn’t lovely I assumed I wasn’t doing enough, so I’d step it up.  I would do more for God, I would try to live a holier, purer life.  When this still didn’t result in exactly the life I wanted, I got either angry or depressed.  Sometimes I was both.  I was also bitter.

I didn’t understand that what I really needed to learn was to be content. God had already given me Himself and He is enough.  I wish I had learned this earlier, but I am thankful that God was patient and allowed me to finally get this lesson through my thick skull.  He is the best teacher and parent of all.

 

 

Leave a comment